3rd Hockey India 5-a-side Senior National Championship 2018

After the success of the two annual editions of the futuristic Hockey India 5-a-side Senior National Championship (Men and Women) it is back with it’s third edition starting in Bengaluru, Karnataka on Tuesday, September 18 at the Field Marshal K M Kariappa Hockey Stadium.

The six-day domestic hockey extravaganza will see state teams vie for top honours in three categories – Men’s, Women’s and the most exciting Combined Men & Women event on 22 September where both men and women will play in a combined team. This mixed format garnered great interest in the previous edition with players giving it a big thumbs up.

Being hosted by Hockey Karnataka for the first time, the 3rd Hockey India 5-a-side Senior National Championship 2018 will see a star-studded line-up with International players Preeti Dubey, Sonal Minj, Lalruatfeli, Satbir Singh, Raj Kumar Pal, Junior World Cup winners Parvinder Singh and Harjeet Singh participating in the event. The Combined event is pegged as the most exciting event of the tournament which will put both men and women on an equal pedestal to showcase their talent in the most exciting format. A team participating in this category will feature a minimum of either 4 men or women in their team of nine member 5-a-side team.

In combined event category, Hockey Maharashtra, Hockey Punjab, Hockey Odisha and Hockey Jharkhand form Pool A whereas, Hockey Haryana, Uttar Pradesh Hockey, Hockey Unit of Tamil Nadu and Hockey Karnataka, are in Pool B. In the Men’s category, defending Champions Hockey Karnataka, Uttar Pradesh Hockey, Hockey Punjab and Hockey Jharkhand are placed in Pool A while Hockey Unit of Tamil Nadu, Hockey Maharashtra, Hockey Haryana and Hockey Odisha will lock horns in Pool B. In the Women’s category, Hockey Haryana, Hockey Punjab, Hockey Odisha and Hockey Unit of Tamil Nadu will make up Pool A while Hockey Karnataka, Hockey Maharashtra, Uttar Pradesh Hockey and Hockey Jharkhand are in Pool B.

Related Articles

Back to top button