4 players from Odisha selected for Hockey Women’s World Cup-2018

Four girls from Odisha were selected for Women’s Hockey Cup. They will represent India, the prestigious Hockey Women’s World Cup-2018 is schedule to held on July 21 in London. The name of the players were Sunita Lakra, Deep Grace Ekka, Namita Toppo and Lilima Minz.

The team will be led by experienced forward Rani while Goalkeeper Savita will shoulder the responsibility of Vice Captain. Goalkeeper Rajani Etimarpu returns to the team after having been rested for the Spain Tour.

The defence will have Sunita Lakra, Deep Grace Ekka, Deepika, drag-flicker Gurjit Kaur and youngster Reena Khokhar. In the midfield, Namita Toppo, Lilima Minz, Monika, Neha Goyal, Navjot Kaur and Nikki Pradhan will hold fort.

The Indian Team has been placed in Pool B along with hosts and World No. 2 England, World No. 7 USA and World No. 16 Ireland.

Related Articles

Back to top button