Anup Pandey, The New Election Commissioner

New Delhi: Former Uttar Pradesh chief secretary Anup Chandra Pandey has been appointed as Election Commissioner of India. A notification published in The Gazette of India dated June 8 said, “In pursuance of clause (2) of article 324 of the Constitution, the President is pleased to appoint Shri Anup Chandra Pandey, IAS (Retd.) (UP: 1984) as the Election Commissioner with effect from the date he assumes the office.”

Anup Chandra Pandey will join Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) Sushil Chandra and Election Commissioner Rajiv Kumar in the top executive body of the Election Commission of India (ECI). The three election commissioners hold office for a period of six years or till they attain the age of 65.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button