Pradip Jena, The New Chief Secretary

Bhubaneswar: The State government today appointed IAS officer Pradeep Kumar Jena as the Chief Secretary. A notification in this regard was today published by the General Administration and Public Grievance Department.

A 1989 batch IAS officer of Odisha cadre, Jena has since January 2021 been serving as Development Commissioner, which is considered the No. 2 position in the state bureaucracy. He also holds additional charge of Special Relief Commissioner and Managing Director, Odisha State Disaster Management Authority.

Earlier in August last year, the Centre had approved the proposal of the state government to extend the term of Chief Secretary Suresh Chandra Mahapatra for another six months for the second time. Mahapatra, a 1986-batch IAS officer, has been serving as the Chief Secretary since December 2020. Mahapatra’s extension period will come to an end on February 28.

As per the notification, senior IAS officer Anu Garg has been appointed as Development Commissioner.

Related Articles

Back to top button